Registered Merit Reporter (RMR)

Registered Merit Reporter


What is the RMR?

The Registered Merit Reporter (RMR) is NCRA’s next-level skills certification designed for mid-career court reporters, those looking for the next level of networking, and those looking for a potential salary increase.

With your RMR, your peers and clients will recognize you as one of the top court reporters in the country. Your RMR gives you more opportunities for challenging and lucrative job assignments, an opportunity to compete in NCRA's National Speed Contest, the inspiration to enhance your skills and become an even more valuable part of the judicial system, eligibility to become an RDR, and 0.25 PDCs for passing each leg of the exam.


Who is eligible to sit for the RMR exam?

To apply for the RMR Exam, you must be a member of NCRA and a current RPR.

How to maintain your RMR Certification

As an RMR, you'll need to maintain continuous membership and your RPR certification. You will renew both your RPR and RMR simultaneously with the same 3.0 CEUs. In other words, you won't have to earn a total of 6.0 CEUs to renew your RPR and RMR.


Recognition of your achievement

After you have earned your certification, you'll receive an official NCRA certificate to display in your home or office. Your certification also gets recognition in the Journal of Court Reporting and on NCRA's website. NCRA membership also includes a complimentary listing in NCRA PROLink.


Testing information

Online Skills Tests

You have to pass three five-minute Skills Tests (SKT), which evaluate your skills level in three areas:

  • Literary at 200 wpm 
  • Jury Charge at 240 wpm
  • Testimony/Q&A at 260 wpm

After dictation, you will have 75 minutes to transcribe your notes and submit your final transcript. You must have 95 percent accuracy on each leg to pass.

You do not have to pass all the components of the exam at one time.

RMR - What is an error?




Differences between the RMR certification and the former CM

All NCRA members who were members in good standing at the time of conversion (on Nov. 4, 1994) were automatically converted to the new certification as RMRs, unless they requested otherwise. Nonmembers will retain their CM designation.