Certified Realtime Reporter (CRR)

Certified Realtime Reporter


What is the CRR?

The Certified Realtime Reporter (CRR) is NCRA’s realtime proficiency certification designed for those who want to demonstrate realtime competency, those looking for an additional salary increase, reporters who wish to market themselves better as realtime reporters.

Become a Certified Realtime Reporter and take advantage of the growing number of opportunities available to realtime reporters. As one of the top national programs that certifies your ability in realtime, attaining the CRR designation commands instant respect and the immediate attention of potential employers.


Who is eligible to sit for the CRR exam?

To register for the CRR Skills Test, you must be a member of NCRA and be a current RPR (or higher).

How to maintain your CRR Certification 

As a CRR, you will participate in NCRA's continuing education program. To renew your CRR, you must maintain your NCRA membership and your RPR (or higher) certification. You will renew both your RPR (or higher) and CRR simultaneously by earning 3.0 CEUs per cycle. In other words, you won't have to earn a total of 6.0 CEUs to renew your RPR and CRR.


Recognition of your achievement

After you have earned your certification, you will be able to log in to your NCRA account and print your newly earned certificate to proudly display in your home or office. Your certification also gets recognition in the Journal of Court Reporting and on NCRA's website. NCRA membership also includes a complimentary listing in NCRA PROLink.


You will also receive .25 PDCs for passing the CRR Exam.


Testing information

Online Skills Test

You have to pass a five-minute realtime testimony/Q&A at 200 wpm with 96 percent accuracy.

You cannot edit your transcript at all before uploading. Time allotted is only to upload your file.

CRR - What is an error?


All candidates are required to read the Skills Test instructions and technical requirements prior to registering and taking their test.


Note:  Skills requirements for certifications are not interchangeable.