Registered Professional Reporter (RPR)


Registered Professional Reporter


What is the RPR?

The Registered Professional Reporter (RPR) is NCRA’s foundational certification designed for entry-level freelance and official reporters, students, those looking for a salary increase, and those in need of a license requirement.

Just ask an RPR what he or she thinks about the program - 81 percent say their RPR designation is valuable to them as individual reporters and 94 percent say RPR certification is an important part of the court reporting profession.

Your RPR means more recognition and respect from your clients, employers, and fellow reporters. Your RPR means more job opportunities and referrals from fellow reporters.


Who is eligible to sit for the RPR exam?

Current or aspiring stenographic reporters. Candidates do not need to be members of NCRA to take the RPR Exam.

How to maintain your RPR certification

Candidates who wish to use the RPR credential must become a Registered member of NCRA within 30 days of passing all RPR requirements. As an RPR, you will participate in NCRA's continuing education program. To renew your RPR, you must maintain your NCRA membership and earn a minimum of 3.0 CEUs over a three-year period.


Recognition of your achievement

After you have earned your certification, you will be able to log in to your NCRA account and print your newly earned certificate to proudly display in your home or office. Your certification also gets recognition in the Journal of Court Reporting and on NCRA's website. NCRA membership also includes a complimentary listing in NCRA PROLink.


Testing information

Online Skills Tests

You have to pass three five-minute Skills Tests (SKT), which evaluate your skills level in three areas:

  • Literary at 180 wpm
  • Jury Charge at 200 wpm
  • Testimony/Q&A at 225 wpm

After dictation, you will have three minutes to attach your steno notes and then 75 minutes to transcribe and submit your final transcript. You must have 95 percent accuracy on each leg to pass.

You do not have to pass all the components of the exam at one time.

RPR - What is an error?


All candidates are required to read the Skills Test instructions and technical requirements prior to registering and taking their test.

Note:  Skills requirements for certifications are not interchangeable.



Written Knowledge Test

The Written Knowledge Test, or WKT, is a 120*- question, multiple-choice test that focuses on three areas that come from the RPR Job Analysis:

  • Technology and Innovation (43%) 
  • Industry Practices (34%) 
  • NCRA, Professionalism, and Ethics (23%) 

You must pass with a scaled score** of 70 or better.

* To provide candidates with a valid and reliable test, NCRA pretests items for the RPR Written Knowledge Test (WKT). Pretesting ensures that all items on an examination are items with good statistics and no brand-new, untried items will appear on any test. This means that the WKT will have 120 items instead of 100. These pretest items will not be scored, so the WKT score is only based off 100 items. Candidates will not know which items are pretest items. Candidates have 110 minutes to complete all items on the test.

** Scaled scoring is a means of assuring fairness and consistency in the difficulty level from one test administration to the next, achieved by applying two widely accepted standard-setting methods to each individual test question. NCRA works with Pearson VUE and the Test Advisory Committee to ensure that NCRA's programs continue to meet testing industry standards.


All candidates are required to read the Written Knowledge Test information prior to registering and taking their test.