Charles Dickens Award

The Charles Dickens Award for the Preservation of the Written Word is given in recognition of outstanding contributions to preserving literacy in America. The award was named for the 19th century English novelist, who spent his early days as a court reporter in London.

2002  The Captioning Profession
2001  Brian P. Lamb
2000  Sen. Robert J. Torricelli
1999  Arthur R. Miller
1998  Brian E. Cartier
1997  Katharine Graham
1996  Sen. Howel Hefllin
1995  Rep. Carlos Moorhead
1994  William J. Hughes
1993  Sen. William S. Cohen
1992  Dr. Lynne Cheney