The Jim Bouley Family Lifetime Award for Altruism fundraiser
Donate to fundraiser

The Jim Bouley Family Lifetime Award for Altruism


The Jim Bouley Family Lifetime Award for Altruism honors working captioners and/or court reporters who give back to the profession and the community with no expectation of any reward. This award, awarded by NCRF, was formerly known as the Santo J. Aurelio Award for Altruism.


Nominations are now closed.



Award requirements

Nomination criteria

  • The nominee must be an NCRA member in good standing from the following categories: Registered Member, Participating Member, Retired Registered Member, Retired Participating Member, or Retired Lifetime Member.
  • The nominee must have demonstrated altruistic behavior – unselfish regard for or devotion to the welfare of others – in accordance with the following definition: Altruism is a behavior by a person that is not of benefit, or may even be harmful, to himself or herself but that benefits others. Altruism is not merely helping others; believing that you have a duty to help others, not that you owe others, is altruism – self-sacrifice, not self-interest.
  • The nominee must have been a working captioner or court reporter for at least 25 years, demonstrating career longevity and commitment.


Nomination steps

  • Submit the online nomination application (once available)
  • All information requested must be provided or the nomination is invalid and will not be considered.
  • You may nominate more than one person; however, you must submit a separate nomination form for each nominee.




Past award winners

2023 - Nancy J. Hopp, FAPR, RDR, CRR, CMRS
2022 - Sue A. Terry, FAPR, RPR, CRR, CRC
2021 - Laurel L. Eiler, FAPR, RDR
2020 - No award given in 2020
2019 - Mervin E. Vaughn, RPR (Ret.)
2018 - Marjorie Peters, RMR, CRR
2017 - Rosalie Kramm, RPR, CRR
2016 - Patricia Graves, FAPR, RDR, CRR, CRC
2015 - Dominick Tursi, CM
2014 - Not awarded 
2013 - David Jackson, RDR
2012 - Irv Starkman, FAPR, RPR
2011 - Karen Yates, FAPR, RPR, CRR, CBC, CCP
2010 - June Otte, RPR
2009 - James Bouley, FAPR, RDR
2008 - Jan Garnett Lopez, RPR
2007 - Heywood “Woody” Waga, FAPR, RMR, CRR
2006 - Barbara Johnson, FAPR, RPR, CPE
2005 - Judith G. Werlinger, FAPR, RMR, CRR, CMRS
2004 - Glyn Earl Poage, RDR, CRR
2003 - Nancy Patterson, RPR, CRI
2002 - Harry J. and Florence M. Foster
2001 - Shirley Houston, FAPR, RPR, CLVS
2000 - Robert H. Clark, RPR (posthumously)
1999 - Frank O. Nelson, RPR, CLVS



Award history

In 1996 Mrs. Josephine C. Aurelio gave NCRF a generous donation to honor her husband’s lifetime of altruistic endeavors. NCRF established the Santo J. Aurelio Award for Altruism, and each year, beginning in 1999 at NCRA’s Centennial Convention, one altruistic person devoted to the court reporting and captioning professions receives this honor.




For more information on this and other Foundation scholarships, please contact NCRF at