Registered Diplomate Reporter (RDR)

RPR certification logo


The court reporting profession's most talented professionals have the opportunity to prove themselves. If you have exhibited exemplary skills in all areas of court reporting, if you are actively involved in court reporting and served as a consultant or leader in the profession, then you are ready to sit for the Registered Diplomate Reporter Examination.

The RDR is the highest level of certification available to court reporters. You'll also earn 0.25 PDCs. This certification program was developed to allow high-level, seasoned reporters to distinguish themselves as members of the profession's elite.


Register for Written Knowledge Test (WKT)

What is the RDR?

The Registered Diplomate Reporter (RDR) is NCRA’s highest degree of certification designed for elite reporters desiring to join an exclusive club of reporting excellence.

Who is eligible to sit for the RDR Exam?

To sit for the RDR Exam, a candidate must be a RMR and have five current and continuous years of membership commencing with Participating or Registered member status.

RDR Certification process

The RDR Exam consists of a 115-question*, multiple-choice Written Knowledge Test that focuses on three areas that come from the RDR Job Analysis:

  • Technology (17%)
  • Reporting practices (53%)
  • Professional practices (30%)

You must receive a scaled score of 70 or better to pass the exam.

What it takes to pass the RDR Exam

The RDR Exam consists of a 115*-question, multiple-choice Written Knowledge Test that focuses on three areas: technology (17%), reporting practices (53%), and professional practices (30%). You must receive a scaled score** of 70 or better to pass the exam.

* In order to provide candidates with a valid and reliable examination, NCRA has started to pretest items for the RPR, RMR, and RDR examinations. Pretesting ensures that all items on an examination are items with good statistics and no brand-new, untried items will appear on any examination. Starting with the November 2006 administration, the RPR and RDR examinations will include items for pretesting. This means that the examinations will now have 115 items instead of 100 items. These items will not be scored, so the exams are still based off of 100 points. Candidates will not know which items are pretest items. Also, with the addition of the items, the RDR will now be 105 minutes instead of 90 minutes to allow candidates sufficient time to finish the examination.

** Scaled scoring is a means of assuring fairness and consistency in the difficulty level from one test administration to the next, achieved by applying two widely accepted standard-setting methods to each individual test question. This evaluation, recommended by NCRA's testing consultant and done by the Test Advisory Committee in conjunction with the Certification Standard Setting Task Force, has been in use since November 2003 and ensures that NCRA's program continues to meet testing industry standards.

The exam is designed to test your knowledge and experience. There is a Job Analysis available; however, NCRA recommends you also be familiar with new reporting technology, NCRA policies and guidelines, and articles published in the Journal of Court Reporting to prepare for the exam.

How to maintain your RDR

In order to maintain your RDR, you'll need to maintain continuous membership and your RPR certification. You'll renew your RPR, RMR, and RDR certifications simultaneously with the same 3.0 CEUs.

In other words, a reporter with RPR, RMR, and RDR certifications will only have to earn a total of 3.0 CEUs over one three-year period to renew all three certifications. And, NCRA will make it easy for reporters to do so by giving members the same expiration date for each certification.

Recognition of your achievement

After you have earned your RDR, you will receive a handsome certificate to display in your home or office. Your RDR also gets you recognition in the Journal of Court Reporting, the NCRA Sourcebook, and on NCRA's website.

CEUs: 0.25 PDCs for passing

Written Knowledge Test registration

All candidates are required to read Written Knowledge Test information prior to registering and taking their test. Please refer to the RDR Job Analysis for a breakdown of what the Written Knowledge Test covers.

IMPORTANT: Before you register for the Written Knowledge Test, please make sure that your FIRST and LAST names on your picture ID are exactly the same as your NCRA record. You will not be able to enter the testing center if the names don't match exactly. (They do not check middle names).


You will receive an email with instructions on how to schedule your test with Pearson Vue within three business days of your registration. Please do not attempt to schedule before receiving the email. If you do not receive the email within three business days, please contact us.

Written Knowledge Test schedule

  • April 9-23, 2018 (Registration Period: March 1-31, 2018)
  • October 8-22, 2018 (Registration period: September 1-30, 2018)
Written Knowledge Tests have 115 questions but only 100 are used to calculate a candidate's official score. The other 15 questions are new questions that are being tested to capture metrics on their validity.