CASE Award of Excellence

Council on Approved Student Education | CASE Award of Excellence

The Council on Approved Student Education (CASE) Award of Excellence is conferred upon an outstanding educator. This person exemplifies dedication to students and extraordinary contributions to court reporter education.


Nominations are now closed.



Nominee eligibility criteria

Nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Nominee must be on the faculty of an NCRA-approved court reporting program.
  • Nominee must be a member of NCRA.
  • Nominee must have at least five years of experience teaching and not be a past award recipient.
  • Nominations must include the completed nomination form.
  • Nominee cannot be a current CASE member.



Nomination instructions

Students, fellow faculty members, administrators, or NCRA members can submit nominations. The NCRA Award of Excellence nomination form must be used to nominate an educator. A letter or an email in its place will not be considered. Nominations will be evaluated using the following criteria:

  • Student engagement/Mentoring: Explain how the nominee supports student activities, including counseling, placement assistance, and advising groups.
  • Teaching/Instruction: Demonstrate the nominee’s excellence in teaching based on contemporary, research-based knowledge of court reporting education, and the development of teaching aids and methods.
  • Leadership: Outline the nominee’s leadership skills by providing examples of the nominee’s problem-solving, motivation, and guidance skills.
  • Professional development: Demonstrate how the nominee has served the advancement of the profession through involvement in professional organizations or creation of professional development programs.
  • Research: Cite examples of the nominee’s research and writing that advances court reporting education or the field.


Educators who have previously won the CASE Award of Excellence are not eligible to be nominated.





CASE Award of Excellence past recipients

2023 Jennifer Sati, RMR, CRR, CRC, CRI
2022 Lisa Jo Hubacher, RPR, CRI
2021  Laurie Moniz
2020  Melissa Lee, CRI
2019  Margaret Sokalski
2018  Robyn Hennigan
2017  Eileen Beltz
2016  Kelly Moranz
2015  Bonni Shuttleworth
2014  Mary Beth Johnson
2013  Sharon Kandt
2012  Kolleen Barnes
2011  Dr. Jen Krueger
2010  Janet A. Noel
2009  Lori Rapozo
2008  Patricia L. Ziegler
2007  Laqueta W. Soule
2006  Jeffrey T. Moody
2005  Paulette Amsler
2004  Robert W. McCormick
2003  Patricia Miller
2002  Lynn Fischer
2001  Kay Moody
2000  Janice K. Bounds
1999  Mary Smith
1998  Kay Frazier
1997  Marcella J. Kocar
1996  Judy Larson
1995  Joyce Sheets
1994  David S. Ehrlich
1993  Richard Featheringham
1992  Mary Geus Anderson
1991  Carol Coblentz
1990  Ann Farrey-Hart
1989  Pauletta Morse
1988  Mae Glassbrenner
1987   Angela Hergenroeder
           Mary Knapp
           Nancy Patterson
           Grayce Williamson




Cynthia R. Bruce, M.S. Ed
Senior Director, Education and Certification