Santo J. Aurelio Award for Altruism

NCRF’s most prestigious award, the Santo J. Aurelio Award for Altruism, is given to a working captioner and/or court reporter with more than 25 years of experience who has given back to the profession, and to the community, with no expectation of any reward.

In 1996, Mrs. Josephine C. Aurelio gave NCRF a generous donation to honor her husband’s lifetime of altruistic endeavors. NCRF established the Santo J. Aurelio Award for Altruism, and each year, beginning in 1999 at NCRA’s Centennial Convention, one altruistic person devoted to the court reporting and captioning professions receives this honor.


Past award winners

2021 - Laurel L. Eiler, FAPR, RDR
2020 - No award given in 2020
2019 - Mervin E. Vaughn, RPR (Ret.)
2018 - Marjorie Peters, RMR, CRR
2017 - Rosalie Kramm, RPR, CRR
2016 - Patricia Graves, FAPR, RDR, CRR, CRC
2015 - Dominick Tursi, CM
2014 - Not awarded 
2013 - David Jackson, RDR
2012 - Irv Starkman, FAPR, RPR
2011 - Karen Yates, FAPR, RPR, CRR, CBC, CCP
2010 - June Otte, RPR
2009 - James Bouley, FAPR, RDR
2008 - Jan Garnett Lopez, RPR
2007 - Heywood “Woody” Waga, FAPR, RMR, CRR
2006 - Barbara Johnson, FAPR, RPR, CPE
2005 - Judith G. Werlinger, FAPR, RMR, CRR, CMRS
2004 - Glyn Earl Poage, RDR, CRR
2003 - Nancy Patterson, RPR, CRI
2002 - Harry J. and Florence M. Foster
2001 - Shirley Houston, FAPR, RPR, CLVS
2000 - Robert H. Clark, RPR (posthumously)
1999 - Frank O. Nelson, RPR, CLVS