Frank Sarli Memorial Scholarship

Nominations are now closed.


The Frank Sarli Memorial Scholarship is a $2,000 award, given annually to a high-achieving court reporting student.

This scholarship honors the late Frank Sarli, a court reporter who was committed to supporting students through years of service on NCRA’s committees and boards that guide the education of court reporting students. This $2,000 scholarship is awarded in his memory annually to a student who demonstrates high achievement and professionalism. Recipients are nominated by their schools and must meet the below criteria to qualify.


Criteria for the Frank Sarli Memorial Scholarship

  1. The nominee must be a current NCRA student member.
  2. The nominee must be enrolled in a court reporting program.
  3. The nominee must have passed at least one of the court reporting program’s Q&A tests at a minimum of 200 wpm.
  4. The nominee must have a grade point average of at least a 3.5 overall, based on a 4.0 standard.
  5. The nominee must have a demonstrated need for financial assistance.
  6. Nominees must possess all the qualities exemplified by a professional court reporter, including professional attitude, demeanor, dress, and motivation.
  7. All criteria must be confirmed and verified by the submitting court reporting program. 


Past recipients

2018: Megan Baeten, Lakeshore Technical College, Cleveland, Wis.

2017: Jared Orozco, Sheridan Technical College, Hollywood, Fla. 

2016: Nicole Bulldis, Green River Community College, Auburn, WA 

2015: Kendra Steppler, Sumner College, Portland, OR

2014: Jessica D’Agostino, Atlantic Technical Center, Margate, FL

2013: Justine Kiechel, College of Court Reporting, Hobart, IN

2012: Cynthia Garcia, Sage College, Moreno Valley, CA

2011: Christina Essi, Cuyahoga Community College, Parma, OH

2010: Melissa R. Ruiz, Alvin Community College, Alvin, TX

2009: Susan Hill, College of Legal Arts, Portland, OR

2008: Leia Nikaido, College of Legal Arts, Portland, OR

2007: Peter Toth, Long Island Business Institute, Commack, NY

2006: Cindy J. Ormerod, Metropolitan College, Albuquerque, NM

2005: Sherry Lindsay, College of Legal Arts, Portland, OR

2004: Summer I. Preddy, Court Reporting Institute of Houston, Houston, TX

2003: Adam Stock, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale, Illinois 

2002: Peggy Presson Davis, Court Reporting Institute of Dallas, Dallas, TX 

2001: Linette K. Neal, St. Louis Community College at Meramec, St. Louis, MO

2000: Helen Oh, MacCormac College, Elmhurst, IL

1999: Suzanne Levesque, New England Tech. Institute, New Britain, CT 

1998: Cheryl Nordstrom, Rasmussen College, Minnetonka, MN 

1997: Melissa Slimmer, Rasmussen College, St. Cloud, MN 




For questions or additional information about this program and other NCRF programs, please email