

NATIONAL COURT REPORTERS ASSOCIATION

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, stenographic court reporters are officers of the court whose impartiality and confidentiality must remain beyond reproach in order to ensure the enduring confidence and faith in our judicial system; and

WHEREAS, stenographic court reporters are required to certify that they have reported the legal proceeding and that the transcript of the proceeding is a true and complete record of their stenographic notes, thereby establishing chain of custody; and

WHEREAS, The National Court Reporters Association, stenographic court reporters, stenographic captioners, and affiliate associations work with lawyers, bar associations, courts, and federal communication regulatory agencies to address the usage of emerging technology; and

WHEREAS, the captioning of live proceedings without a stenographic captioner impedes equal access to caption end users;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the National Court Reporters Association urges stenographic court reporters, stenographic captioners, affiliate associations, lawyers, bar associations, courts, and federal communication regulatory agencies to address the emerging ethical and legal issues related to the utilization of artificial intelligence (AI), automatic speech recognition (ASR), voice cloning, and digital audio recording of legal proceedings without a stenographic court reporter present to verify the chain of custody of the official record when use of such technology may fail to protect the privacy of litigants and could erode the public's confidence, trust, and faith in the fairness and legitimacy of the judicial system.

Unanimously adopted June 2, 2020 NCRA, 12030 Sunrise Valley Dr., Suite 400, Reston, Va. 20191

NCRA Board of Directors Max Curry, RPR, CRI, President Christine Phipps, RPR, President-Elect Debra Dibble, RDR, CRR, CRC, Vice President Kristin M. Anderson, RPR, Secretary-Treasurer Sue A. Terry, FAPR, RPR, CRR, CRC, Immediate Past President Lance A. Boardman, RDR, CRR Meredith A. Bonn, RPR, CRR Cindy L. Isaacsen, RPR Keith Lemons, FAPR, RPR, CRR Jason Meadors, FAPR, RPR, CRR, CRC Cathy Penniston, RPR, CRI Heidi C. Thomas, FAPR, RDR, CRR, CRC Yolanda Walton, FAPR, RPR NCRA STRONG Task Force Phyllis Craver-Lykken, RPR, Chair Christopher Day, RPR Lillian M. Freiler, RMR, CMRS Rich Germosen, RDR, CRR Elizabeth A. Harvey, RPR Lisa Migliore Black Alan Peacock, RDR, CRR, CRC Isaiah Roberts, RPR Dineen Squillante, RPR Lindsay Stoker, RPR, CRC