Join NCRA   |  Store  |  NCRA Online Sourcebook  |  FAQ  |  Pressroom  |  Contact Us
News & Publications

NCRA and Schools Celebrate National Punctuation Day

October 6, 2011

NCRA celebrated National Punctuation Day on September 24, 2011, by offering schools a punctuation-free version of a speed contest legal opinion to punctuate. Many schools were excited to take part in the contest and wrote back to thank NCRA for providing the materials and the prize, a "One Association, One Future" t-shirt originally distributed at the 2011 NCRA Convention and Exposition in Las Vegas.

Twenty-six schools reported back with the following winners' names: 

  • Anoka Technical College, Anoka, MN:  Melissa Keute
  • Atlantic Technical Center, Coconut Creek, FL: Erin Lehnen
  • Baton Rouge School of Court Reporting, LA: Allison Jourdan
  • Bryan College, Sacramento, CA: Nicole Hatler
  • Business Informatics Center, Valley Stream, NY: Jennifer L. Schnitzer
  • Canadian Centre for Verbatim Studies, Toronto, Canada: a four-way tie for first place to Ana Dumitrascu, Gina Nicoll, Robert Stewart, and Byron Tong
  • Central New Mexico Community College, Albuquerque, NM:  Relene Dixon
  • Clark State Community College, Springfield, OH: Hannah Parshall
  • College of Court Reporting, Hobart, IN: Andrea Dalsing
  • Everest College, Henderson, NV: Brandy Roberts
  • GateWay Community College, Phoenix, AZ: Tracy Miller
  • Green River Community College, Auburn, WA:  Korina Kerbs
  • Humphreys College, Stockton, CA: Darla Moen
  • Key College, Dania Beach, FL: Theresa Burke
  • Miami-Jacobs Career College in Sharonville, OH: Kelley Bohan
  • Miami-Jacobs Career College, Independence, OH:  Sarah Lane
  • Midstate College, Peoria, IL: Tabitha Huffman
  • Northern Alberta Institute of Technology, Edmonton, Canada:  Kelly Wall
  • Oakland Community College, Royal Oak, MI: Amanda Hubble
  • Orleans Technical Institute, Philadelphia, PA: Brittany Everly
  • Realtime Center for Learning Inc. Westbury, NY:  Debbie Babino
  • Sage College, Moreno Valley, CA:  Julianne Legge
  • Southwest Tennessee Community College, Memphis, TN: Amanda Powers
  • Stautzenberger College, Brecksville, OH:  Heidi Metzger
  • Tri-Community Adult Education, Covina, CA: Jeffrey Hunter
  • Winter Park Tech - Avalon Campus, FL:  Ken AuYeung

Congratulations to all!