Join NCRA   |  Store  |  NCRA Online Sourcebook  |  FAQ  |  Resource Center  |  Contact Us
Scholarships & Awards

Santo J. Aurelio Award for Altruism

Mr. David B. Jackson, RDR, is the most recent Santo J. Aurelio Award recipient.

NCRF’s most prestigious award, the Santo J. Aurelio Award for Altruism, is given to a working court reporter with over 25 years of experience who has given back to the profession, and to the community, with no expectation of any reward.   

The 2013 recipient, David Jackson, exemplifies those characteristics.

Jackson, a court reporter with more than 40 years of experience, is a principal with the United American Reporting Services in Dallas, Texas. He is the 15th recipient of the Aurelio Award.

Jackson, who served six years in the U.S. Naval Reserve, including one active year as a court reporter at the Naval Guided Missile School at Dam Neck, Va., began his court reporting career as a freelancer in Oklahoma City. In 1971, he joined the firm of Federal Court Reporters, and continued service with the company after it merged with United American Court Reporting Services in 1986. He holds the professional designations of Certified Steno Reporter (CSR) from the state of Texas, as well as the NCRA-recognized Registered Diplomate Reporter (RDR), and certificates of Proficiency and Merit.

Active at the local level, Jackson holds membership in the Dallas County Shorthand Reporters Association and served as its president in 1979. At the state level, he is a member of the Texas Court Reporters Association (TCRA) and served as president of the group from 1983 through 1984. He is a past recipient of TCRA's Distinguish Service Award, and is a member of the organization's Hall of Fame.

At the national level, Jackson holds membership in NCRA and served on the organization's board of directors from 1998 through 2001. He is also a member of the Society for the Technological Advancement of Reporting (STAR), and a founding member of Legal Image Network Communications, serving as its vice president and treasurer in 1991.

During his career, Jackson served two terms on the Texas State Bar Association's Unauthorized Practice of Law Committee, and as a member of the Advisory Committee of the Court Reporting Institute of Dallas and Professional College of Court Reporting. He was also appointed by the Texas Supreme Court to the Texas Court Reporters Certification Board, and served seven years as co-chair of the Testing Committee, dictating and administering the Texas CSR test for court reporting. He has served as member of the Texas Supreme Court Advisory Committee since 1992.

Active in his community, Jackson is a member of the Park Cities Baptist Church in Dallas, and was involved with the local Big Brothers program from 1980 through 1987. His articles have appeared in the Texas Trial Lawyers Forum and in TCRA's Texas Record, and he has been a presenter at numerous NCRA and TCRA meetings.

Jackson resides in Dallas, and enjoys coin, stamp, art, and gun collecting, as well as golfing, fishing, hunting, and sailing.

"David is one of my local friendly competitors, and he is a big man with an even bigger heart," said Donna L. Collins, RPR, CRR, CCP, owner of Collins Realtime Reporting, in Dallas, who nominated Jackson for the award.

"He received the Texas Court Reporters Association top honor, the Distinguished Service Award, 18 years ago and now deserves the Auriel award. He continues to serve on the Texas Supreme Court committees, proctoring and grading court reporter exams, as well as testifying before the legislature, speaking at seminars, and mentoring others in and outside of the court reporting profession. 

Past Award Winners

2014 - Not awarded 
2013 - David Jackson, RDR
2012 - Irv Starkman, RPR, FAPR
2011 - Karen Yates, RPR, CRR, CBC, CCP, FAPR
2010 - June Otte, RPR
2009 - James Bouley, RDR, FAPR
2008 - Jan Garnett Lopez, RPR
2007 - Heywood "Woody" Waga, RMR, CRR, FAPR
2006 - Barbara Johnson, RPR, CPE, FAPR
2005 - Judith G. Werlinger, RMR, CRR, CMRS, FAPR
2004 - Glyn Earl Poage, RDR, RMR, RPR, CRR
2003 - Nancy Patterson, RPR, CRI
2002 - Harry J. and Florence M. Foster
2001 - Shirley Houston, RPR, CLVS, FAPR
2000 - Robert H. Clark, RPR (Posthumously)
1999 - Frank O. Nelson, RPR, CLVS

About the Award

In 1996, Mrs. Josephine C. Aurelio gave NCRF a generous donation to honor her husband's lifetime of altruistic endeavors. NCRF established the Santo J. Aurelio Award for Altruism, and each year, beginning in 1999 at NCRA's Centennial Convention, one altruistic person devoted to the court reporting profession will receive this honor.

                                                                         Updated 10/30/2013