Join NCRA   |  Store  |  NCRA Online Sourcebook  |  FAQ  |  Resource Center  |  Contact Us
The Foundation

NCRF Scholarships & Awards

NCRF raises funds to support & recognize both the court reporting professional, and the student reporter.     

For Students

The Foundation is thrilled to be awarding four scholarships and one grant in 2015 to deserving NCRA members.  In order to qualify for the Robert H. Clark Scholarship, the Frank Sarli Memorial Scholarship, or the (2) Student Intern Scholarships awarded each year, students must be enrolled in an NCRA-certified court reporting program, be a member of NCRA, have a 3.5 GPA, and meet other criteria.  **Note: Our scholarships are not designed to be self-nominating; rather, student nominees are selected by their program instructor or program administrator based on qualifications and financial need.  For more information contact April Weiner, NCRF Foundation Assistant, at, or 800/272-6272, ext. 152.  

Robert H. Clark Scholarship -- Deadline September 21

The National Court Reporters Foundation is proud to announce its latest scholarship for court reporting students. This scholarship is named for the late Robert H. (Bob) Clark, a court reporter from Los Angeles, Calif., who was dedicated to preserving the history of the profession. Clark was the beloved, longest-tenured Librarian-Historian in NCRA history, serving for approximately 26 years. In 1993, he donated his extensive collection of books, artifacts, and documents related to court reporting to NCRF to help establish the Robert H. Clark Library at NCRF headquarters. Clark was honored with the title of Librarian-Historian Emeritus in 1997. He passed away in 2000.

This year, Clark’s cousin, Donna Hamer, made a generous donation to NCRF to honor him, and, as a result, the Foundation created the Robert H. Clark Scholarship. It will be awarded in the amount of $1,800 for five years beginning this year and running through 2019. Court reporting students must be nominated by an instructor or advisor and meet a number of specific criteria to be eligible. The criteria can be found here

Nominations are currently being accepted for this scholarship. The deadline for the award is Sept. 21. 

Click here for the Nomination Form. 

Frank Sarli Memorial Scholarship Awarded to Kendra Steppler

Congratulations to Kendra Steppler of Portland, Ore. Kendra, who attended Sumner College in Portland, Ore., is the 19th recipient of NCRF's Frank Sarli Memorial Scholarship. 

This scholarship honors the late Frank Sarli, a court reporter who was committed to supporting students at the highest level of their learning curve. Recipients are chosen based on a number of criteria, including enrollment in an NCRA-certified court reporting program, passing at least one of the court reporting program's Q&A tests at a minimum of 200 words per minute, having a grade point average of 3.5 or above, demonstrating the need for financial assistance, and possessing the qualities exemplified by a professional court reporter, including attitude, demeanor, dress, and motivation. Frank dedicated his professional life to court reporting, and especially to students, serving many years on NCRA's committees and boards that guide the education of court reporting students. NCRF gives out a $2,000 scholarship each year in his memory to a student nearing graduation who meets very specific criteria demonstrating achievement and professionalism. 

List of Recipients

New Professional Reporter Grant Awarded to Rachelle Cahoon 

Rachelle Cahoon, a court reporter from Boise, Idaho, is the 2015 recipient of NCRF's New Professional Reporter Grant. Rachelle graduated from the College of Court Reporting in Hobart, Ind., and is now working at Tucker and Associates in Boise, Idaho. She has been described as a powerhouse who is expected to become an amazing realtime writer. 

NCRF awards an annual $2,000 grant to a qualified new working reporter who graduated from an NCRA-certified program within the last year. The reporter must be nominated by his/her supervisor or employer and must be working in one of three career paths: judicial (official/freelance); CART or Captioning. The grant is intended to help the reporter establish him- or herself as a professional, or help with such items as school loans, equipment purchases, etc. Nominees must meet specific criteria and represent the qualities of a stellar reporter. 

List of Recipients 

Student Intern Scholarships Awarded to Katherine Schilling & Elizabeth Vanghelof

Congratulations to Katherine Schilling of West Valley College, Saratoga, Calif., and Elizabeth Vanghelof of Atlantic Technical Center, Coconut Creek, Fla., the recipients of NCRF's 2015 Student Intern Scholarships! 

Each year, NCRF awards two $1,000 scholarships to students who have completed or are currently performing the required internship portion of their court reporting program. They must also meet other specific criteria, as outlined in the Nomination Form. A generous annual donation from the Reis Family Foundation helps fund these scholarships. 

Past Scholarships   

The following two scholarships are not currently being awarded; however we want to recognize the recipients of these scholarships. 

Second-Year Student Scholarship      

Winners received a scholarship in the amount of $1,400.         

Disabled Student Scholarship  

Three disabled court reporting students have received NCRF scholarships in the amount of $1,000 each! 

Santo J. Aurelio Award for Altruism 

About the Award:  In 1996, Mrs. Josephine C. Aurelio gave NCRF a generous donation to honor her husband's lifetime of altruistic endeavors. NCRF established the Santo J. Aurelio Award for Altruism, which is awarded at NCRA's annual Convention, to an altruistic person devoted to the court reporting profession.

This award goes to a long-time court reporter who has given back selflessly to the profession or community. Recipients must be an NCRA Participating or Registered member, or a Retired Participating or Registered member; must have demonstrated altruistic behavior; and must have been a working reporter for at least 25 years.

The recipient of this year's award will be announced at the NCRA Convention & Expo in New York. 

Past winners may be found at the link below. 


Updated: 8/31/2015