Join NCRA   |  Store  |  NCRA Online Sourcebook  |  FAQ  |  Pressroom  |  Contact Us
The Foundation

NCRF Scholarships & Awards

NCRF raises funds to support & recognize both the court reporting professional, and the student reporter.     

Santo J. Aurelio Award for Altruism

About the Award:  In 1996, Mrs. Josephine C. Aurelio gave NCRF a generous donation to honor her husband's lifetime of altruistic endeavors. NCRF established the Santo J. Aurelio Award for Altruism, which is awarded at NCRA's annual Convention, to an altruistic person devoted to the court reporting profession.

This award goes to a long-time court reporter who has given back selflessly to the profession or community. The nominee must be an NCRA Participating or Registered member, or a Retired Participating or Registered member; must have demonstrated altruistic behavior; and must have been a working reporter for at least 25 years. Past winners may be found at the link below. There will be a call for nominations for next year's award sometime in the spring of 2015. Watch for announcements in the JCR Weekly email to the membership.

For Students

The Foundation is thrilled to be awarding three scholarships and one grant in 2014 to deserving NCRA members.  In order to qualify for either the Frank Sarli Memorial Scholarship, or the (2) Student Intern Scholarships awarded each year, students must be enrolled in an NCRA certified court reporting program, be a member of NCRA, have a 3.5 GPA and meet other criteria.  **Note: our scholarships are not designed to be self-nominating, rather student nominees are selected by their program instructor or program administrator based on qualifications and financial need.  For more information contact B.J. Shorak, NCRF Deputy Executive Director, at, or on 800/272-6272, ext. 126.  

Frank Sarli Memorial Scholarship Awarded to Jessica D’Agostino

Congratulations to Jessica D’Agostino of Lake Worth, Fla.  Jessica, who attended Atlantic Technical Center in Margate, Fla., is the 18th recipient of NCRF’s 2014 Frank Sarli Memorial Scholarship.

This scholarship honors the late Frank Sarli, a court reporter who was committed to supporting students at the highest level of their learning curve. Recipients are chosen based on a number of criteria, including enrollment in an NCRA-certified court reporting program, passing at least one of the court reporting program’s Q&A tests at a minimum of 200 words per minute, having a grade point average of 3.5 or above, demonstrating the need for financial assistance, and possessing the qualities exemplified by a professional court reporter, including attitude, demeanor, dress, and motivation.  Frank dedicated his professional life to court reporting, and especially to students, serving many years on NCRA's committees and boards that guide the education of court reporting students. NCRF gives out a $2,000 scholarship each year in his memory to a student nearing graduation who meets very specific criteria demonstrating achievement and professionalism.

New Professional Reporter Grant Awarded to Shannon Bevin

Shannon Bevin, a court reporter from Whitestone, N.Y., is the 2014 recipient of NCRF’s New Professional Reporter Grant.  Shannon graduated from the Long Island Business Institute in Commack, N.Y., and is now working at Admiral Reporting and Video Services in Bayside, N.Y.  The firm’s owner, Valerie Berg, described Shannon as honest, straightforward, loyal, trustworthy, bright, and goal-oriented, and she noted that Shannon “has certainly been an asset to Admiral Reporting and Video Services.”

NCRF awards an annual $2,000 grant to a qualified new working reporter who graduated from an NCRA-certified program within the last year. The reporter must be nominated by his/her supervisor or employer and must be working in one of three career paths: judicial (official/freelance); CART or Captioning. The grant is intended to help the reporter establish him- or herself as a professional, or help with such items as school loans, equipment purchases, etc.  Nominees must meet specific criteria and represent the qualities of a stellar reporter.

Student Intern Scholarships

Each year, NCRF awards two $1,000 scholarships to students who have completed or are currently performing the required internship portion of their court reporting program. They must also meet other specific criteria, as outlined in the Nomination Form. A generous annual donation from the Reis Family Foundation helps fund these scholarships. 

The 2014 Student Intern Scholarships were awarded in July to Kelly Greer of the Community College of Allegheny County, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and Rebecca Russo of Gadsden State Community College, Gadsden, Alabama. Congratulations to both of these students!

Past Scholarships   

The following two scholarships are not currently being awarded; however we want to recognize the winners of these scholarships. 

Second-Year Student Scholarship      

Winners received a scholarship in the amount of $1,400.         

Disabled Student Scholarship  

Three disabled court reporting students have received NCRF scholarships in the amount of $1,000 each! 

Updated: 10/27/14